Transacript Application
About Us
Application for Admission
About Us   
School Links Minimize

Admission Links
Click here to Apply for Admission
Continue your application for admission
Print Your Application Slip/ Upload your documents
Check your admission status
Admission Application FAQS
Screening Links
Screening/ Post UTME Registration
Click to continue your screening
Print Screening Slip/ Upload documents
General Link
Click here to Log in to School Portal

About Us Minimize

The Federal Polytechnic, Offa came into existence in 1992. A presidential pronouncement for its establishment was made at the Palace of His Royal Highness, Olofa of Offa, Oba Mustapha Olawoore Olanipekun Ariwajoye II, by the then Military President, Ibrahim Babangida during a state visit in 1991

Consequently, a local task force was then constituted by His Royal Highness, the Olofa,  under the Chairman of Alhaji Tiamiyu Olatinwo with six other eminent indigenes of Offa and Chief Ayotunde Raji as Secretary.

This local task force prepared the ground for easy take off of the Polytechnic. It identified the premises of Olalomi Comprehensive high School as a suitable temporary site and liaised with identified landlords whose properties could be used by staff and students.

The pioneer Rector of the Polytechnic, Engr. (Mrs.) Taiwo Adeife Osemeikhian, administered both administrative and academic matters in the Polytechnic from February 1992 to year 2000, under the supervision of a Federal task force led by the Director of Science and Technology, Federal Ministry of Education. The task force was responsible for taking major policy decisions affecting the polytechnic and performing the functions of the Governing Council. She handed over to the immediate past Rector, Dr Razaq Bello from whom the current Rector, Dr Mufutau Olatinwo, took over to pilot the affairs of the Polytechnic since 2006 as Ag. Rector, and later as the third substantive Rector in 2008.

The first Governing Councils of the Polytechnic was inaugurated alongside councils of other tertiary institutions in year 2000, the second in 2005 while the third and the current council headed by Senator Engr. Onyeka Okoroafor, was constituted in 2009.

The first batch of three hundred and sixty (360) students were admitted into the initial six programmes  viz;

  1. Financial Studies
  2. Business Studies
  3. Secretarial Studies
  4. Science Laboratory Technology
  5. Electrical/Electronic Engineering; and
  6. Computer Science

From this humble beginning, the Polytechnic has developed to its present state with 20 courses offered at National Diploma (ND) level, and 22 courses at Higher National Diploma (HND) level and Pre-ND programs in Arts and Science. The institution is proud of over 5,000 students in its care.

Temporarily, the Polytechnic is located at the southern end of the town along the Offa-Oshogbo Way, while its permanent site is currently being rapidly developed along Ojoku Road, Offa.

At the apex of the organizational structure of the polytechnic is the Minister of Education and Visitor of the Polytechnic. Next in line is the Governing Council, headed by Senator Engr. Onyeka Okoroafor followed by the Academic Board.

1.   Minister of Education - Visitor of the Polytechnic
2.   Governing Council headed by Senator Engr. Onyeka Okoroafor
3.   Academic Board

The Federal Polytechnic Offa boasts of Staff strength of 302 junior staff and 485 senior staff, the later broken down into 215 Academic and 219 Non Academic Staff.

The Polytechnic also has 29 Staffs in its Secondary School, 18 in the Primary School and 4 in the Women In Tertiary Education (WITED) Day Care Centre.
In the current academic session, the Polytechnic has a Student population of twenty five thousand, six hundred and forty six (25,646) students studying at different levels of its various programmes of study.

1. School of Applied Science and Technology
2. School of Business and Management Studies
3. School of Communication and Information Technology
4. School of Engineering Technology
5. School of Environmental Studies